STAFFORDSHIRE & WEST MIDLANDS BILLIARDS & SNOOKER ASSOCIATION
STAFFORDSHIRE & WEST MIDLANDS BILLIARDS & SNOOKER ASSOCIATION - Logo

STAFFORDSHIRE & WEST MIDLANDS BILLIARDS & SNOOKER ASSOCIATION

SPONSORED BY INTER COUNTY LOGISTICS

News

Ask A Referee

18/11/16

Email Rob Wright (Referee)

Any questions you have regarding the rules email our resident referee Rob Wright at ref@westmids-snooker.co.uk through the website by going into the menu bar headed club secretaries & captains you will find him the first contact on the page. Below are recently asked questions :-

Q - Player A is 29 points ahead with 27 remaining but fails to get out of a snooker giving away a four point penalty thus making the difference 25. Can a miss be called in this circumstance. Rule 14 (a)(i) states a miss will not be called if any player needed penalty points before or as a result of the stroke being played. So in simple terms as the diff is now 25 should miss be called.

A - A miss cannot be called in this instance. As the rule quoted states: if penalty points were required before or as a result of... As the player was 29 points behind before the shot a miss could not be called.

Q - If you make a foul on the black leaving the points tied only black ball left on table if re-spotted is it a re-spot ?

A - If the points are tied after making a foul with just the black ball remaining, then first foul on the black ends the frame, if all points are level then the black ball will be re-spotted with cue ball in hand.  It would then be normal custom to toss for the first strike.  This does not apply in aggregate competition as the frame would be declared drawn, unless it is the final frame of the competition and the match score is level.

Q - I have a question that happened in a league game this week, the player came to the table, placed his hand down, lined up his shot, and just before he took it, the red that was hanging over the hole just fell in so was this a foul as he was in control of the table and should the red come back up?

A - The question you have asked comes into the Rules of Snooker under Ball on Edge of Pocket. I have copied the full description below, but in basic terms, the ball would be replaced on the edge of the pocket by the referee. The Striker would then play the stroke again without penalty, as a stroke had not been made.

:-  Ball on Edge of Pocket

When a ball falls into a pocket without being hit by another ball, and:

(a) Being no part of any stroke in progress, it shall be replaced and any

points previously scored shall count.

(b) If it would have been hit by any ball involved in a stroke:

(i) with no infringement of these Rules (including cases where an

infringement would have occurred but for the ball falling into a

pocket), all balls will be replaced and the same stroke played again,

or a different stroke may be played at his discretion, by the same

striker;

(ii) if a foul is committed, the striker incurs the penalty prescribed in

Section 3 Rule 10, all balls will be replaced and the next player has

the usual options after a foul.

(c) If a ball balances momentarily on the edge of a pocket and then falls in; it

shall count as in the pocket and not be replaced.

Q - Watching snooker on TV I heard the commentator say something about a rule change regarding nominating a ball after a foul shot whereby the inference was that after a foul and free ball is awarded there is no need to say which colour is being taken as a free ball is this correct ?

A - It is usual following the award of a free ball to indicate to the referee which ball you intend to take as your free ball. I am not aware of any change to the rule.

69 Views

SIMON HICKMAN

  • SIMON HICKMAN - SNOOKER COACH

DAVID HALL

LANDYWOOD SNOOKER

CRESCENT SILVER

.

PERRY'S TABLE TECHNICIANS

.

WEST MIDLANDS MAGAZINE LTD

SNOOKER4U.COM

BASED IN WEDNESBURY 0800 0236246 - sales@snooker4u.com

PAUL HARRISON

  • PAUL HARRISON SNOOKER COACH

WARWICK SPICE